EUNIS General Assembly – 16 June 2011


The annual meeting of the EUNIS General Assembly during the EUNIS2011 Congress in Dublin, Ireland on 16 June 2011.

The President Jan Madey took the chair.

1.    Welcome and registration of representatives

The President welcomed new colleagues to their first meeting of the EUNIS General Assembly. Representatives of member institutions and organisations registered their  presence at the meeting.

2.    Approval of the minutes from the meeting in Warsaw

The General Assembly approved the minutes from Warsaw 2010.

3.    Election of scrutinisers for the election of Council members

Ivan Vrana and Nicola Bertazzoni were elected as scrutinisers.

4.    Approval of new members since 1 September 2010

The General Assembly approved the following new members:

  • Agency for Science and Higher Education (Croatia)
  • Instituto Superior Tecnico Lisbon (Portugal)
  • Université Paris Descartes (France)
  • An Chein Computer Services Ltd, a Department of Dublin Institute of Technology (Ireland)
  • Hanken School of Economics (Finland).

5.    Appointment of Honorary Member

The General Assembly decided to appoint Richard Katz, former Vice President of Educause and a long time keynote speaker and supporter of EUNIS to Honorary Member of EUNIS.

6.    Report on EUNIS activities 2010-2011

The eLearning Task Force (ELTF) activities were presented by Gill Ferrell, JISC infoNet, UK:

  • 13th April 2011 Workshop on Technology-enhanced learning on campus, in Porto, Portugal.
  • Organising the Jens Doerup Award the winner of which was University of Zagreb, Croatia.

The RS3G Task Force activities were presented by Simone Ravaioli from CINECA, Italy:

  • 13th -15th  December 2010 RS3G – ECAM joint meeting “Enabling Middleware for Academic Mobility – Solutions for the RS3G Mobility Project” Malaga, Spain, 20 Participants – 17 Organizations – 12 Countries.
  • 23rd – 25th March 2010 RS3G Mobility Project “Coding Camp” in Barcelona, Spain.
  • 14th June 2011 Workshop on “student-related data and mobility” in Dublin, Ireland with Digitary.

The MIS/BI Seminar and Workshop in Hannover, Germany together with HIS on the 17th -18th  May 2011 was presented by Jean-Francois Desnos, France.

Annual Conference in Dublin, Ireland, 14th – 17th June 2011.

7.    Financial Report

The financial report including:

  • Statement of accounts 2010-2011 and Budget for 2011-2012 was given by Peter Tinson, USCISA, UK.
  • The General Assembly discussed the membership fee and decided to keep it as 300 euros for regular members for another year but suggested an increase in the future.
  • The financial report was approved.

8.    Proposal for future activities

The following future activities were approved:

  • EUNIS Rectors´ seminar on The Future of Education: use and misuse of IT(title preliminary)
  • Continuation of the eLearning (ELFT) Task Force
  • Continuation of the RS3G Task Force.

Starting of new Task Forces: University Business Intelligence, and Europe-wide IT-Benchmarking.

There was also a lively discussion about activating EUNIS members to communicate and collaborate within the community. To learn more, see

9.    Contradictions in EUNIS Statutes and the solving of them

The General Assembly decided that the Board will prepare changes in the Statutes to overcome current contradictions. The Board may also take actions during the winter which are to be approved by the GA at next meeting.

10.    Election of Council

Eight members of Council completed their terms of office in 2011. Also, two members were standing down earlier, either because they were changing jobs or for personal reasons. Therefore there were 10 positions on Council to be filled.

The following were elected (new members in Bold):

For 3 years until 2014:

Nicola Bertazzoni (Italy)
Ramon Grau (Spain)
Gregor Jarzembski (Poland)
Pekka Kähkipuro (Finland)
Arsenio Reis (Portugal)
Andres Salu (Estonia)
Darina Tothova (Slovakia)
Ivan Vrana (Czech Republic)

For 2 years until 2013:

Jan Madey (Poland)
Ligia Maria Ribeiro (Portugal)

(After the election names were drawn from a hat to decide who was going to replace those resigned with two more years in the Council).

Kristel Sarlin
EUNIS Executive Secretary
1st July 2011